Reading Playing Cards: My Introductory Remarks

So you want to learn to read playing cards? Well way to go! This post serves as my reference for much of the underlying content of my page.

When I began learning to read playing cards back in 2009, it was more of a mask so that I could learn to read tarot cards while not attracting the suspicion of my parents or anyone at the conservative college I attended. So my first round of playing card vocabulary was actually the minor arcana of the Tarot, but this “vocabulary,” so to speak, began to fall away when I started to learn under Kapherus, forum master of the no longer existing The Art of Cartomancy Forum, author of the current The Art of Cartomancy Blog, and revered member of the Cartomancy Forum.

I am so grateful to Kapherus, for he introduced me to resources that I eventually purchased to continue my cartomancy studies independently. Much of what I’ve learned stemmed from his notebook, which I think you can find a good portion of its content on his blog. My go-to resource is Regina’s Russell’s Card Reader’s Handbook. If I were to actually teach a class, I would probably make this required text. I would highly advise getting it sooner rather than later. My other go-to source is the Hedgewytch method, which is quite different than that of Russell’s technique and meanings, though still influenced by it to an extent. Finally, Leo Martello’s text It’s in the Cards is quite a lovely book to read for learning cartomancy as well.

Everything that I know and is now uniquely my own has its foundations in one of the above texts. As for the work of others who post card reading information online, I normally take them with a grain of salt and fill in the gaps with things that makes sense to me (aka, I use my intuition). Actually, I encourage doing this: understand the fundamentals, and try to fill in the gaps yourself.

I would like to offer a light word of caution about using websites which list card meanings, a healthy dose of skepticism and doubt that stems from my academic background. I look for credibility: Did the author have some sort of spiritual experience or ancestral instructor to teach him or her to read cards? Does this person seem to have done his or her research? Is this person forthcoming with the sources that they read? If none of these questions are addressed, it may not be worth actually reading their work. The “About Me” section is your friend.

What I have and will have posted here on this site will give you a light springboard to get you started in the right direction, but it’s ultimately up to you to push it further. Thus, in addition to obtaining Russell’s book, I do recommend joining a forum where you can practice giving readings and receiving feedback. In matter of fact, read for your friends. The more you read, the more confident you will become.

And so with that being said, go forth and learn much! Don’t be afraid to experiment. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me, or visit my “Page of Wishes and Regrets,” where I try to answer some commonly asked questions and give commentary on how I would have changed my divination learning experience.

 

Leave a Reply

