The Book of Love is long and boring, no one can lift the damn thing . . .

Something interesting I found as I was preparing for tonight’s critical class. It’s something that I’m going to think about and unpack for the next couple of days, if not weeks.

. . . . . . . Supervalent Thought

Delaminated from week 1 lecture notes, Love Theory (Winter 2012)…

I am a love theorist. I sometimes feel dissociated from all my loves. I sometimes ask them to hold more of an image of me than I can hold. By “sometimes” I mean all the times. The image is the regressed form, not the narrative noise that comes later to try to apply adhesive to the fantasy and its representation in objects, so that I know I am an event that lives in the world. The love and the images available for it are in a Thunderdome death-love match, yet we act as though affect could be held within a steady-state space like meat on a hook, or the image of meat on a hook, since actual meat turns green. Most storage lockers are cold enough to slow down that decay, as we know from narrative and domesticity. Aggressions and…

View original post 1,052 more words

Leave a Reply

